Reopening on Tuesday 1st June (Government Dependent)


What is a Chakra? Valentines Special..

Firstly…what is a Chakra?

Literally meaning “wheel” in Sanskrit, a Chakra is an energy point located in a specific area of the subtle body. There are seven in total, moving from the base of the spine up to the crown of the head. In ancient Hindu and Buddhist teachings, it is said that these seven points of the body are where our Prana (life force / energy) flows through, keeping us healthy and at peace providing each chakra stays open and aligned. However, if one or more become blocked, these energy flows are restricted which can result in mental, emotional and / or physical suffering.

The Anahata Chakra 

Seeing as it’s Valentine’s Day this week, we thought we would focus on one specific Chakra: Anahata (heart). In Sanskrit, Anahata literally translates as “unstruck”. The name indicates that, beneath the pain of past experiences, there is a pure and spiritual place deep within where no suffering exists. It is also believed to be the healing centre of the body; in many spiritual traditions, love is the healing force for all pain.

The Anahata Chakra is the fourth major energy wheel in the body, located at the centre of the chest. It includes the heart, cardiac plexus, thymus gland, and lungs; it is also responsible for the lymphatic system.

It is believed that when the Anahata Chakra is open, we feel loving kindness and compassion towards ourselves and others, our relationships are good, we are grateful, we forgive quickly and we are more accepting and empathetic.

However, many situations in life (illness, stress and emotional pain) can lead to a blockage resulting in feelings of anger, jealousy, grief, fear and hatred towards others and/or ourselves. This can greatly impact our self-esteem, it can cause us to become judgemental of those around us and, in turn, can create problems in our relationships. From a physical point of view, it is believed a blocked Anahata Chakra is also responsible for cardiovascular and respiratory problems.

How do we balance the Anahata Chakra if it’s blocked?

Yoga and Meditation: 

Through yoga (asana), any movements or poses that open up the chest are believed to help, for example:

  • Cobra (Bhujangasana)
  • Bridge (Setu Bandha Sarvangasana)
  • Bow (Dhanurasana)
  • Wheel (Urdhva Danurasana)
  • Camel (Ustrasana)
  • Dancers (Natarajasana)
  • Wild thing (Camatkarasana).

Holding the hands in prayer at heart centre (Anjali Mudra) whilst meditating or during certain poses can also help to stimulate the flow of Prana through the heart centre.

(Don’t forget our Chakra Healing Circle workshops which is held every 5weeks. Bookings can be made online.)

Gemstones and Crystals

  • Rose quartz
  • Jade
  • Emerald
  • Malachite
  • Amazonite
  • Adventurine

(Check out our range of crystals, Chakra bracelets by Krema and Mala beads in our gift shop)

Daily life

On a more everyday level, doing simple things to enhance love and compassion towards yourself and those around you can also release any blockages, for example:

  • Taking time out to do something nice for yourself
  • Smiling at a stranger
  • Helping someone in some way
  • Showing your appreciation for those you love
  • Giving a compliment
  • Working on letting go of any grudges / forgiveness
  • Repeating positive affirmations

Why not treat yourself or a loved one to our Valentine’s offer at Ikigai this week, choose between…

Offer one:

1 x Self Care Co. candle

1 x Ikigai Holistic tote bag

1 x 5 class pass

for £70.00

Offer two (for new clients only):

1 x Self Care Co. candle

1 x Ikigai Holistic tote bag

£30 for 30 days trial offer

for £50.00

Please contact reception for any further information. 

Love and Light,

The Ikigai Team